Research Project D9 - Exchange Relationships and Collective Use of Resources in Culturally Heterogeneous Areas: Latin American Frontiers, 1880 to 1910

Principal Investigator:
Term:
Jan 01, 2006 — Dec 31, 2017

The research project D9 comparatively analyzes exchange relations and modes of collective use of resources that the ruling elites in Latin America deployed to economically include indigenous groups around 1900. For our case studies we selected the regions of Sonora (Mexico), Araucania (Chile), and the Upper Xingú (Brazil) where the project focuses on reciprocal and trust-based mechanisms of governance of state, non-state, and indigenous actors. In this context, we analyze the adoption or repression of indigenous knowledge and the consequences of the applied forms of governance in regard to their environmental and social compatibility.

After the military repression of regional indigenous groups in the second half of the 19th century, which we researched during the previous funding period of the SFB 700, aspects of security policy became less important for the ruling elites of Latin America. Instead, the question arose how to use the new reclaimed lands and their natural resources and integrate them into regional, national, and international economy. The indigenous peoples could not and should not have been ignored in this process but were to take an active role as workers, trading partners, or reliable informants for particular natural resources of the widely unknown territories. The research project investigates the exchange relations that took place on local level, such as the organization of collective use of resource in cooperation with the indigenous groups. The project also explores conflicts and solutions which were arising in this context.

In our case studies on this topic, the chosen time frame (approx. 1880-1910) has been overshadowed by and to some degree ignored due to the nationally significant developments that were succeeding that time. In Chile, the 100th anniversary of independence in 1910 marks the beginning of a new era characterized by a sense of crisis and reorientation. Regarding Mexico and Brazil, historians mainly focused on the revolution and respectively the founding of the Servicio de Proteccão dos Ìndios (both in 1910) and the preceding decades were (ethno-) historiographically labeled as evolutionary history. In contrast, our research project intentionally assumes a historical path dependency and analyzes the period around the turn of the century in the respective research areas as post conflict scenarios.

Further information:

Download Research Project D9 - Project Poster

Teilprojekt D9 - Austauschbeziehungen und kollektive Ressourcennutzung im kulturell heterogenen Raum: Die lateinamerikanischen Frontiers, 1880-1910

Leitung:

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Projektlaufzeit:

01.01.2006 — 31.12.2017

Das Teilprojekt D9 untersucht vergleichend Austauschbeziehungen und kollektive Ressourcennutzungsmodelle, über die die herrschenden Eliten Lateinamerikas um 1900 eine wirtschaftliche Einbeziehung indigener Gruppen erreichen wollten. Fokussiert werden in den Fallstudienräumen Sonora (Mexiko), Araukania (Chile) und dem Oberen Xingú (Brasilien) reziproke und vertrauensbasierte Governance-Mechanismen staatlicher, nichtstaatlicher und indigener Akteure, die Aneignung oder Verdrängung indigenen Wissens sowie die Konsequenzen der angewandten Governance-Formen hinsichtlich ihrer Umwelt- und Sozialverträglichkeit.

Im Anschluss an die in der vorangegangenen Förderperiode des SFB 700 untersuchte militärische Unterwerfung regionaler indigener Gruppen in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts gerieten sicherheitspolitische Aspekte für die herrschenden Eliten Lateinamerikas in den Hintergrund. Stattdessen stellte sich die Frage, wie die neu erschlossenen Gebiete und ihre natürlichen Vorkommen für regionale, nationale und internationale Wirtschaftskreisläufe nutzbar gemacht werden konnten. Die autochthonen Bevölkerungen konnten und sollten bei diesem Vorgang nicht ignoriert werden, sondern eine aktive Rolle als Arbeiter, Handelspartner oder Informanten über besondere Ressourcenvorkommen der weitgehend unbekannten Gebiete spielen. Das Forschungsprojekt fragt danach, welche Austauschbeziehungen auf lokaler Ebene stattfanden, wie kollektive Ressourcennutzung im Zusammengehen mit indigenen Gruppen organisiert wurde und welche Konflikte und Lösungen dabei zum Zuge kamen.

Der gewählte Zeitraum (ca. 1880-1910) steht bei allen Fallstudien bislang im Schatten nachfolgender Entwicklungen von nationaler Bedeutung: In Chile markiert das Jahr 1910 mit dem 100-jährigen Jubiläum der Unabhängigkeit den Beginn einer Phase des Krisenbewusstseins und der Neuorientierung. In Mexiko und Brasilien haben vor allem die Revolution bzw. die Gründung des Servicio de Proteccão dos Ìndios (beide 1910) die Aufmerksamkeit der Historiker auf sich gezogen und die Jahrzehnte davor (ethno-) historiographisch für eine Entstehungsgeschichte vereinnahmt. Unser Forschungsvorhaben geht dagegen bewusst von einer historischen Pfadabhängigkeit aus und analysiert die Zeit der Jahrhundertwende in den Fallstudienräumen als post conflict-Konstellationen.

 

Weitere Informationen können Sie hier herunterladen:

Download Ausführliche Projektbeschreibung

Download Poster Teilprojekt D9