Project description

 

Since the end of the Cold War, international organizations and states have developed programs to promote (good) governance in third countries. Regional organizations also have received a broad mandate allowing them to actively promote the development of legitimate governance institutions in their member states and third countries. Thereby, they may not only foster the evolution of regional but also induce the transformation of national order.

The project “Governance Export by Regional Organizations” investigates the transfer of governance institutions by regional organizations in and to areas of limited statehood. In a first step, we map the objectives, approaches and instruments these external actors use to promote the creation and transformation of legitimate governance institutions in target countries. Do regional organizations demand and promote similar criteria for ‘good’ governance institutions, or do regional and local practices prevail? Our final goal is to account for similarities and differences within and between regional organizations and gain first insights into the effectiveness and legitimacy of regional governance transfer.

In order to answer these questions, we analyze nine regional organizations with the help of experts:

Regional Organization Expert Institution
African Union (AU) Julia Leininger German Development Institute
Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Christof Hartmann Universität Duisburg-Essen
Southern African Development Community (SADC) Merran Hulse, Anna van der Vleuten Radboud University Nijmegen
Mercado Común del Sur (Merocsur) Andrea Ribeiro-Hoffmann Universität Erfurt
Andean Community (CAN) Osvaldo Saldías Freie Universität Berlin
Nordamerikanisches Freihandelsabkommen (NAFTA) Francesco Duina Bates College
Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN) Anja Jetschke Universität Freiburg
League of Arab States (LAS) Vera van Hüllen Freie Universität Berlin
European Union (EU) Carina Breschke Freie Universität Berlin

Preliminary findings indicate a global trend towards the active transfer of governance institutions by regional organizations. However, looking more closely, regional organizations prescribe different standards and use different instruments to promote them more or less actively. While the content of standards set by ASEAN, for example, remain vague, ECOWAS has very strict and binding criteria for legitimate governance institutions in its member states. Through election observation missions, the suspension of membership, and even military intervention ECOWAS aims at enforcing these standards.

Next to mapping the governance export of major regional organization across the globe, the B2 project also seeks to determine the extent and conditions under which regional organizations are willing, capable, and successful in inducing change of governance institutions in their member states.

Projekt

 

Seit dem Ende des Kalten Krieges haben Internationale Organisationen und Staaten Programme entwickelt, um (Good) Governance in Drittländern zu fördern. Außerdem wurden regionale Organisationen mit einem breiten Mandat ausgestattet, um sich in Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern aktiv für die Entwicklung legitimer Governance-Institutionen einzusetzen. Auf diese Weise könnten sie nicht nur die Evolution regionaler Ordnungen fördern, sondern auch einen Wandel nationaler Strukturen auslösen.

Das Projekt „Governance Transfer by Regional Organizations“ untersucht den Transfer von Governance-Institutionen von regionalen Organisationen in Räume begrenzter Staatlichkeit. In einem ersten Schritt erfassen wir, welche Ziele, Ansätze und Instrumente diese externen Akteure nutzen, um die Schaffung oder den Wandel von Institutionen in Zielländern zu fördern. Fordern und fördern die regionalen Organisationen ähnliche Kriterien für Good Governance oder bleiben regionale und lokale Praktiken bestehen? Unser Ziel ist es, Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede zwischen regionalen Organisationen zu erklären und einen Eindruck davon zu gewinnen, wie es um die Effektivität und Legitimität von regionalem Governance-Transfer bestellt ist.

Um Antworten auf diese Fragen zu finden, analysieren wir mit der Hilfe von Experten neun Organisationen:

Regionalorganisation Experte Institution
Afrikanische Union (AU) Julia Leininger Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik
Westafrikanische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft (ECOWAS) Christof Hartmann Universität Duisburg-Essen
Entwicklungsgemeinschaft des Südlichen Afrika (SADC) Merran Hulse, Anna van der Vleuten Radboud University Nijmegen
Gemeinsamer Markt des Südens (Merocsur) Andrea Ribeiro-Hoffmann Universität Erfurt
Andengemeinschaft (CAN) Osvaldo Saldías Freie Universität Berlin
Nordamerikanisches Freihandelsabkommen (NAFTA) Francesco Duina Bates College
Verband Südostasiatischer Nationen (ASEAN) Anja Jetschke Universität Freiburg
Arabische Liga (LAS) Vera van Hüllen Freie Universität Berlin
Europäische Union (EU) Carina Breschke Freie Universität Berlin

Unsere ersten Ergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass es einen globalen Trend zum aktiven Transfer von Governance-Institutionen durch regionale Organisationen gibt. Im Detail zeigt sich aber, dass die Organisationen unterschiedliche Standards vorschreiben und unterschiedliche Instrumente nutzen, um diese mehr oder weniger aktiv voranzutreiben. Während die Standards beispielsweise im Fall von ASEAN vage bleiben, verfügt ECOWAS über strenge und verbindliche Kriterien für Institutionen in Mitgliedstaaten. ECOWAS versucht, diese mit Hilfe von Beobachtermissionen, der Suspendierung von Mitgliedern oder auch militärischen Interventionen durchzusetzen.

Nach dem Erfassen der weltweiten Governance-Transfers wollen wir herausfinden, in welchem Umfang und unter welchen Bedingungen regionale Organisationen willens, fähig und erfolgreich darin sind, die Institutionen in Mitgliedstaaten zu verändern.

Publikationsverzeichnis

Zeitplan und Aktivitäten