3. Consequences of new forms of governance

Our theoretical aim is to determine not only conditions for the effectiveness of governance in areas of limited statehood but also its empirical and normative consequences. This entails three issues of concern:

The coordination of various actors and the negotiation of different normative claims are specific challenges of governance under the circumstances of limited statehood. Institutions of the international system that have taken on this task of meta-governance should be viewed critically, especially, as to their state-bias. It is crucial to point out possibilities of dealing with phenomena of states that cannot enforce their rules, fluid boundaries, and non-state actors of governance or of violence.

Governance of non-state actors in areas of limited statehood runs the risk of further undermining the (residual) statehood. The analysis will show under which conditions governance can promote the development of state capacities. Possibly, there are new forms of statehood in which the state acts primarily as a manager of non-state governance, or entirely different forms that reproduce themselves through systematic corruption.

Given our empirical focus on governance in areas of limited statehood, matters of justice arise: matters of the inclusiveness of services; the determination of subsidiary parties responsible; the institutionalized guarantee of access to vital goods; or the assessment of normatively ambiguous actors of governance. Besides this, the question as to the deserved recognition and bindingness of the emerging order arises. As to meta-governance, it must be considered normatively to what extent non-state actors can be obliged to grant collective goods. Finally, we will deduce policy recommendations for specific national and international organisations from our empirical and normative findings. A particular, institutionalized form of this exchange exists with the German Federal Foreign Office (cf. Tresearch Project T3).

3. Konsequenzen neuer Formen des Regierens

Unser theoretischer Anspruch ist es, neben den Erfolgsbedingungen auch die empirischen und normativen Folgerungen zu eruieren, die sich aus den neuen Formen des Regierens in Räumen begrenzter Staatlichkeit ergeben. Dabei geht es um drei Problemkomplexe:

Besondere Herausforderungen, die beim Regieren unter Bedingungen begrenzter Staatlichkeit entstehen, sind die Koordination verschiedener Governance-Akteure und die Vermittlung zwischen unterschiedlichen normativen Ansprüchen. Institutionen des internationalen Systems, die sich diese Meta-Governance zur Aufgabe gemacht haben, sind vor allem mit Blick auf ihren Staatszentrismus zu kritisieren. Es gilt Möglichkeiten aufzuzeigen, wie den Phänomenen nicht durchsetzungsfähiger Staaten, fluider Raumgrenzen und nichtstaatlicher Governance- oder Gewalt-Akteure in Zukunft begegnet werden kann.

Governance durch nichtstaatliche Akteure birgt in Räumen begrenzter Staatlichkeit die Gefahr, dass die (Rest-)Staatlichkeit weiter unterminiert wird. Die Analyse wird zeigen, unter welchen Bedingungen Governance den Aufbau staatlicher Kapazitäten fördern kann. Möglicherweise bilden sich neue Formen von Staatlichkeit heraus – Formen, in denen der Staat vornehmlich als „Governance-Manager“ fungiert, oder ganz andere Formen, die sich durch systemische Korruption reproduzieren.

Angesichts unseres Forschungsgegenstandes drängen sich Gerechtigkeitsfragen auf: Fragen der Inklusivität der Leistung; der Bestimmung subsidiärer Pflichtträger; der institutionellen Absicherung des Zugangs zu lebensnotwendigen Gütern; oder der Bewertung normativ ambivalenter Governance-Akteure. Daneben stellt sich die Frage nach der Anerkennungswürdigkeit und Verbindlichkeit der entstehenden Ordnung. Was die Meta-Governance angeht, so ist normativ zu erwägen, inwiefern nichtstaatliche Akteure in die Pflicht (zur Governance-Leistung) genommen werden können. Schließlich werden wir aus unseren empirischen und normativen Erkenntnissen Politikempfehlungen für konkrete nationale und internationale Organisationen ableiten. Eine besondere, institutionalisierte Form hat dabei der Austausch mit dem deutschen Auswärtigen Amt (vgl. Teilprojekt T3).