D8 - International Organizations‘ Perceptions of Areas of Limited Statehood

Research project D8 conducted 150 semi-structured expert interviews with staff members from the following seven international and regional organizations: European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (ECHO), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA), New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), the World Food Programme (WFP), and the World Bank (WB). In 2015, we then conducted interviews at the headquarters of international organizations (approx. 80 interviews). As a second step in 2016, we conducted approx. 70 interviews with staff members from international organizations in five select countries (Côte d’Ivoire, Haiti, Colombia, Niger, and Sierra Leone). The interviews were held in English, French, and Spanish.

We spoke with staff members of international organizations (IOs) about their experiences in areas experiencing different degrees and types of limited statehood. Our primary research interest was in determining how different organizations saw their own role and which opportunities and challenges they perceived in their work in areas of limited statehood. In particular, we asked about perceptions of different contexts of statehood. We were also interested in the form and way in which international organizations implemented projects (for example, with which partners they worked; which factors influenced partner selection etc.). The following made up the different thematic blocks in the interview guidelines: statehood, governance, organizational environment (role of IOs compared to other governance actors), transnational guidelines, the interaction between headquarters and country offices, as well as processes of organizational learning. From a total of six thematic blocks, we focused primarily on statehood and governance.

All conversation partners were assured that the interviews would be treated with the upmost care and confidentiality, and that attribution of statements made in the interview to individual respondents would be prevented as much as possible.

Contact: Prof. Dr. Andrea Liese, aliese@uni-potsdam.de

D8 - Sichtweisen internationaler Organisationen auf Räume begrenzter Staatlichkeit

Das Teilprojekt D8 hat 150 semi-strukturierte Experteninterviews mit Mitarbeiter*innen sieben internationaler und regionaler Organisationen geführt. Diese sind: das Europäische Amt für humanitäre Hilfe und Katastrophenschutz (ECHO), die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO), die Interamerikanische Entwicklungsbank (IDB), das Interamerikanische Institut für Kooperation in der Landwirtschaft (IICA), die Neue Partnerschaft für Afrikas Entwicklung (NEPAD), das Welternährungsprogramm (WFP) sowie die Weltbank (WB). Zunächst haben wir 2015 Interviews an den Hauptsitzen der internationalen Organisationen geführt (ca. 80 Interviews). In einem zweiten Schritt haben wir 2016 Mitarbeiter*innen von internationalen Organisationen in fünf ausgewählten Ländern (Côte d’Ivoire, Haiti, Kolumbien, Niger und Sierra Leone) befragt (ca. 70 Interviews). Die Interviews wurden auf Englisch, Französisch und Spanisch geführt.

Wir haben mit IO-Mitarbeiter*innen über ihre Erfahrungen in Räumen mit unterschiedlich ausgeprägter Staatlichkeit gesprochen. Unser Erkenntnisinteresse bestand darin zu erheben, wie unterschiedliche Organisationen ihre eigene Rolle sehen und welche Chancen und Herausforderungen sie bei ihren Tätigkeiten in Räumen begrenzter Staatlichkeit wahrnehmen. Insbesondere haben wir nach Wahrnehmungen verschiedener Staatlichkeitskontexte gefragt. Auch die Art und Weise, in der internationale Organisationen Projekte implementieren (etwa, mit welchen Partnern sie kooperieren; was die Auswahl der Partner beeinflusst etc.) interessierte uns. Die Themenblöcke im Interviewleitfaden waren: Staatlichkeit, Governance, organisationale Umwelt (Rolle der IO im Vergleich zu anderen Governance-Akteuren), transnationale Leitlinien, die Interaktion zwischen Hauptsitz und Länderbüro sowie Prozesse des organisationalen Lernens. Von diesen insgesamt sechs Themenblöcken haben wir uns prioritär auf Staatlichkeit und Governance konzentriert.

Allen Gesprächspartner*innen wurde zugesichert, dass die Interviews mit größtmöglicher Sorgfalt und Vertraulichkeit behandelt werden, sowie dass eine Zurechenbarkeit der im Interview getroffenen Aussagen zu einzelnen Personen so weit wie möglich ausgeschlossen ist.

Ansprechperson: Prof. Dr. Andrea Liese, aliese@uni-potsdam.de